International Youth Library

  • The International Youth Library Foundation is a public trust organization founded under civil law. It was registered in 1995 by publisher Christa Spangenberg.

    The Foundation’s aim is to promote education and scholarship. It supports individuals and institutions involved in circulating and communicating children’s and youth literature, including parents and teachers, helping to inspire and strengthen appreciation for the value of children’s and young adult books. Within the purview of scholarship, it promotes research in the area of international youth literature.

    The Foundation’s goals are especially realized through the International Youth Library in Munich, whose operation took over in 1996.

  • The International Youth Library fulfils its statutory tasks through the collection, cataloguing, and dissemination of children’s and youth literature from at home and abroad and through its engagement with the cultural education of young people and promotion of cross-cultural understanding. An international board of trustees supervises the realization of the Foundation’s mission. Its executive committee manages Foundation business and carries out the decisions of the board of trustees.

    Bank details for donations:
    Stadtsparkasse München
    IBAN: DE 7970 1500 0000 5112 8999

Board of the International Youth Library Foundation

  • Board of Trustees

    Dr. Rolf Griebel

    Former Director of the
    Bavarian State Library

    Second Secretary Uta-Christina Biskup
    Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth

    Dr. Dominik Freiherr von König

    Henning Schroedter-Albers
    Society of Friends and Sponsors of the International Youth Library

    Johannes Ebert
    Secretary General Goethe Institute

    Executive Board

    Clara Fernández López

    Dr. Christiane Raabe

  • Deputy Chairwoman
    Dr. Sabine Solf


    Christopher Franceschelli
    Handprint Books, Brooklyn,
    NY, USA

    Patricia von Garnier
    Bavarian State Ministry for Science and Art

    Anton Biebl
    Department of Arts and Culture, State Capital Munich

    Eberhard Spangenberg